Types of Rock Cycles



Rock Cycle – Here is a complete explanation of the rock cycle.

Starting from Understanding rock cycles, rock cycle processes, igneous rock cycles, lithosphere rock cycles, metamorphic rock cycles, sedimentary rock cycles, natural rock cycles, etc.

Rock Cycle Definition

Source: geologyrocks.com

Rock Cycle – The only planet in which living things can live and continue to grow is the earth which has its own chemical substance, but is limited in number.

All elements that exist on earth can never be destroyed or created by anyone who lives in them.

The elements or substances that exist on the earth will remain in number, only they will change and continue to spread.

Changes and spread that occur from time to time are of course several processes or cycles such as rock cycles.

Not only that, the earth will also experience the hydrological cycle, phosphorus cycle and oxygen cycle and other life cycles.

On this occasion we will discuss the rock cycle in which the rock actually originates from one source, namely magma.

Magma in Rock Cycle

Source: geologycycle.com

Previously, it should be known that magma is a combination of semi-liquid and liquid rock that is located on the surface of the earth.

Magma has four parts namely melt which is at the bottom and very hot, both crystallization from melt.

Then the third one is solid rock and the last or fourth part is dissolved gas.

The rock cycle is a cycle in which describes the relationship between all the rocks that make up the earth.

Rock cycles can take place with different time periods, this cycle can run fast and can also run slowly.

In fact, the rock cycle can last for millions of years depending on what rock type changes.

Some also mean that the rock cycle is a concept in the most basic geological world.

This concept explains about the time period of changes in the three main rocks, namely igneous, sedimentary and metamorphic rocks to get out of their equilibrium.

The rock cycle also shows the close relationship between the three main rock types mentioned.

The theory or concept of the rock cycle emerged in the 18th century related to James Hutton, Father of Geology.

He said that all the elements on earth have an order so that they will definitely return to their original form.

Then in the 1950s J. Tuzo Wilson emerged who developed the theory of plate-based rock tectonics.

Frozen Rock Cycle

Source: geologycycle.co.id

The igneous cycle is the same as the crystallization process of magma which has been explained in the material in the first paragraph above.

Magma which is usually located around the Earth’s plate boundary will come out when the volcano erupts and then it will freeze.

When this magma freezes, the crystallization process of magma occurs and can take place on the surface and in the earth’s crust.

Examples of rocks that are on the surface of the earth or extrusive rocks are basalt and andesite rocks.

While examples for rocks that are in the earth’s crust or intrusive rocks are granite rocks and diorite rocks.

Intrusive rocks that freeze in the earth’s crust where more crystallization takes place beneath the surface of the earth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *